Judges 2020

Michael Fridjhon is the convenor of the Old Mutual Trophy Spirits Show and is responsible for selecting the judges and managing the judging process. All judges are suitable experienced spirits judges, with at least one member of every panel a recognised international authority. The full panel of judges, comprising 11 industry experts, is listed below.

Last year, the line-up of judges for the inaugural show read like a who's who of the world of gins, whiskies, brandies, rums and liqueurs. Jerome Royer, President of the French Brandy Federation, David Boyd, formerly responsible for the production of Chivas Regal, Abelour and Edradour and David Smith, chair judge at a number of international spirits competitions and inaugural winner of the ThinkGin Communicator of the Year were joined by several of the country's leading spirits judges – all of whom have had extensive judging experience, mostly abroad.
Click images to view biographies

    Michael Fridjhon

    Show Chairman